Skip to main content

Do you need care for any of these specialty care categories?

If so, look for hospitals in your area with the Blue Distinction* designation, known as Blue Distinction Centers (BDCs) to feel confident you're getting reliable care. BDCs have expertise in:

  • Bariatric surgery
  • Cardiac care
  • Fertility care
  • Maternity care
  • Spine surgery
  • Transplants
  • Substance-use treatment and recovery
  • Cellular immunotherapy (CAR-T)
  • Gene therapy
  • Cancer care

*Not all facilities provide all services.

Facilities with the Blue Distinction designation have a proven history of delivering exceptional care and results with fewer complications, lower readmissions and higher survival rates — potentially getting you back to your normal daily life sooner.

All Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield members have full access to the BDCs in their network — no matter their plan.

Find a Blue Distinction Center External Site

What does Total Care mean?

Blue Cross Blue Shield's Total Care program incents doctors and hospitals a little differently. They are awarded for the quality — not the quantity — of the services they provide. By providing the right care at the right time, the Total Care approach aims to curb the trend of rising health care costs.

Total Care makes it easier for you to choose health care providers you know are delivering high quality care — while also avoiding unnecessary costs.

Are you required to use a Blue Distinction Center?

You may be required to use a BDC for specific procedures to be covered. Be sure to check your coverage documents, view your plan details in myWellmark® or call the Customer Service number on your ID card to find out before scheduling a specialty service.

Just like with any other cost estimates, you can find out how much you'll pay for a procedure at a BDC by using the Find Costs feature in myWellmark.

Find a Blue Distinction Center in your network

  1. Register for or log in to myWellmark.
  2. Select Find a Facility.
  3. Click Find Blue Distinction Centers.
  4. Search for a facility by service and state.

Log in to myWellmark

Blue Distinction Centers (BDC) met overall quality measures for patient safety and outcomes, developed with input from the medical community. A Local Blue Plan may require additional criteria for providers located in its own service area; for details, contact your Local Blue Plan. Blue Distinction Centers+ (BDC+) also met cost measures that address consumers' need for affordable healthcare. Each provider's cost of care is evaluated using data from its Local Blue Plan. Providers in CA, ID, NY, PA, and WA may lie in two Local Blue Plans' areas, resulting in two evaluations for cost of care; and their own Local Blue Plans decide whether one or both cost of care evaluation(s) must meet BDC+ national criteria. National criteria for BDC and BDC+ are displayed on Individual outcomes may vary. For details on a provider's in-network status or your own policy's coverage, contact your Local Blue Plan and ask your provider before making an appointment. Neither Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association nor any Blue Plans are responsible for non-covered charges or other losses or damages resulting from Blue Distinction or other provider finder information or care received from Blue Distinction or other providers.