Skip to main content
The Wellmark Foundation logo

Chris Atchison


Chris Atchison

Board Member

Iowa City, Iowa

Christopher Atchison has served as the director of the State Hygienic Laboratory at the University of Iowa since 2007. He is also associate dean for public health practice and a clinical professor in health management and policy at the university, where he also holds secondary appointments in the College of Nursing and the Public Policy Center.

In Iowa, Atchison is the Chair of the Iowa Safety Net Collaborative, member of the Leadership Committee for the Systems Innovation Model (SIM) grant, member of the Iowa Department of Public Health’s Public Health Advisory Council, and co-chairs the Partnership for Better Health. At a national level, he is a member of the executive committee and chairs the Health System Performance and Public Health Steering Committee of the National Academy of State Health Policy. He is also secretary-treasurer of the Association of Public Health Laboratories and on the Program Integration Coordinating Committee of the American Heart Association.

Previously, Atchison was director of the Iowa Department of Public Health (1991–1999) and inaugural chair of the Iowa Child Health Insurance Program (S-CHIP). He was vice-chair of Healthy Iowans 2010, the Long-Term Care Coordinating Council, and was a member of both the Governor’s Health Care Reform Task Force and the Iowa Empowerment Board. He was president of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) during the years 1994 and 1995. He received ASTHO’s Arthur T. McCormack Award, the Iowa Medical Society’s John T. Sanford Award, the Damen Award from Loyola University Chicago and the Underserved Champion from the Iowa/Nebraska Primary Care Association, and the Henry Albert Award from the Iowa Public Health Association.