Skip to main content

Angeline Lavin graduated with highest honors from the University of South Dakota in Vermillion in 1993, obtaining a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration. She attended graduate school at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln, earning her MBA in 1996 and her Ph.D. in business finance in 1997. Ms. Lavin earned the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation in 2000.

In August 1997, Ms. Lavin joined the University of South Dakota (USD) as a finance faculty member in the Beacom School of Business. She achieved tenure and the rank of associate professor in 2002, followed by promotion to the rank of full professor in 2007. Ms. Lavin was the director of the MBA program at USD from 2006 to 2014, and she was the director of the Master of Professional Accountancy Program from 2008 to 2014. Angeline was also an advisor for Coyote Capital Management, the student managed investment fund at USD, since its inception in 2001 through 2014, and she won the Belbas-Larson Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2000 and 2013. Since January 2015, Ms. Lavin has served as a financial advisor at RBC Wealth Management.

Ms. Lavin was appointed to the South Dakota Investment Council by the Executive Board of the Legislative Research Council in 2003, serving a five-year term until 2008. She served as Chair of the Council, which oversees management of the South Dakota Retirement System assets as well as other state funds, from July 2007 to June 2008. Ms. Lavin was appointed to serve on the Sioux Falls Firefighters' Pension Board from 2003-2010, and she was reappointed to that Board from 2018-2022. Angeline also served on the Sioux Falls Employees' Pension Board from 2011-2018 and was reappointed in 2023. In 2005, Ms. Lavin joined the Sioux Falls Area Community Foundation (SFACF) Investment Management Committee. She became chair of the committee in July 2011 when she also became a member of the SFACF Board. Ms. Lavin also served on the Investment Committee for The Foundation for the Malcom Baldrige National Quality Award Inc. from 2013-2018, and she is currently a member of the University of South Dakota Foundation Investment Committee.