ICD-10 Diagnosis and Procedure Codes

The International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision (ICD-10) codes are used by all providers and health insurers for claims with dates of service Oct. 1, 2015 and later. To ensure that your ICD-10 claims are accepted by Wellmark and processed accurately, please take advantage of the resources on this page.


For real-time alerts regarding updates to all Wellmark’s ICD-10 Web pages, please register for the Wellmark Information Notification System (WINS). secure

Troubleshoot Claims Issues

To reduce the likelihood for claim rejections and denials, please refer to the ICD-10 Best Practices page.

Get Answers

Thanks to the input of many Wellmark providers, especially those who tested their claims with Wellmark prior to the introduction of ICD-10, this list of questions and answers is comprehensive and easy to navigate.


The Wellmark claims testing environment is always available to providers who would like to test their claims before submitting them to Wellmark. Prior to Oct. 1, 2015, Wellmark encouraged providers to test their most common claims with the new ICD-10 codes. The electronic testing environment remains open for any provider who still wishes to test. Visit the testing instructions page to get started.

Learn More

Check out the resources below for help with coding and other business practices impacted by ICD-10.

© Wellmark, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield is an Independent Licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association doing business in Iowa and South Dakota.
Privacy & Legal